Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Green Living Green Living

Is there a searchable database for food?

Posted by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 7:42 AM
  • 11 Replies

Is there a database for food like there is for cosmetics/beauty products (skin deep- http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/) that grades food (or natural varities, at least)? I'm new to going natural/organic/additive/gmo free and wondering about various products that claim to be all natural. Like, is the soybean oil in Newman's Own a GMO? I'm just trying to find an easier way than researching every product via google.

by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 7:42 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
cemcnair
by Courtney on Oct. 26, 2012 at 9:12 AM
I don't know, but that would be fantastic!! I love the skin deep site.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
JasonsMom2007
by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 10:51 AM
Idk either.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Miranda1127
by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 11:01 PM

I have an app called fooducate. It allows you to scan a upc and gives you easy to follow info on that product and better comparable products. It also has a good deal of healthy food info.

Miranda1127
by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 11:05 PM

I just learned about Oreo, Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, Double Stuf Oreos

Here is an example for you. I scanned my late night snack and it gave me this. When I hit the alternative bar it listed b+-a+ cookies/snacks. A+ being apples and oranges and other b products being similar cookies.

chrissysnow22
by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 11:07 PM
I have that too.

Quoting Miranda1127:

I have an app called fooducate. It allows you to scan a upc and gives you easy to follow info on that product and better comparable products. It also has a good deal of healthy food info.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Miranda1127
by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 11:09 PM