Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Foreign language?

Posted by on May. 7, 2012 at 11:35 PM
  • 12 Replies
  • 394 Total Views
I know a lot of colleges require foreign language (3-4 years, I think). So how does an unschooler get the foreign language requirement?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on May. 7, 2012 at 11:35 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
faeriemom1972
by Member on May. 8, 2012 at 12:14 AM
1 mom liked this
I'm still new at this, but if your child wants to learn a foreign language either for pleasure or to get in to a school of his/her choice there must be classes that offer something. My son is only 6 and since I'm pretty committed to unschooling, so I really haven't thought that far ahead. I'm sure one of the more seasoned unschoolers will be more helpful.
Bleacheddecay
by on May. 8, 2012 at 10:38 AM

My kids wanted to study.Japanese

We tried a lot of different things.

English/ Japanese dictionary,

Pimsleur

Two years of Rosetta Stone free at library web site (not impressed)

My Japanese Tutor on Nintendo d/s $50.00, and

http://www.livemocha.com/ free.

These last two are highly recommended.

But my son says he picked up the MOST by watching anime and playing games in Japanese with English subtitles rather than English voice dubbing which he says is horrible voice acting.

YzmaRocks
by on May. 8, 2012 at 1:42 PM
1 mom liked this

Ok, that makes sense. I guess I just assumed my children would go to college. Growing up, not going to college was not an option. It wasn't even discussed. In fact, I don't think I ever considered not going so I assumed all my children would do the same.

Bleacheddecay
by on May. 8, 2012 at 10:27 PM
2 moms liked this

My oldest got an academic scholarship and is in the honors program at her college. Next year is her Senior year.