Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Big Mother Fail Today. :(

Posted by on Jan. 9, 2013 at 8:52 PM
  • 3 Replies
  • 138 Total Views
I am new to unschooling. Have been doing some reading and relaxed our schedule a lot in the last few weeks. We broke for Holiday break the week before Christmas and have been doing our own thing ever since.
I have been amazed at how much learning my children had been doing on their own. I was just here to make suggestions, read what they needed and help with science experiments etc. They have done so much! My son was finally having that look of excitement from learning again.
Well today I made a great big goof. My oldest (son 7) does not like work books..my middle child (girl 5) loves workbooks. I sat down to do math lesson with Dd..she loves it and will cry if we don't do it.
I told Ds I would like him to come over and look at the new concept in his math book. He came but he had the worst attitude..slouching in the chair. Growling at me, messing up his numbers on purpose. We went over the new concept and I left him alone.
Later today I was sitting with him while he played with his animals (he got a set of animal 'counters' for Christmas..there are 75 of them.) I was sitting with him asking him questions about the animals and then I move onto math question about the animals. He was doing multiplication and division with them. I didn't know he could do that! The math I was trying to show him in the textbook today was about 100's place value. Which he appeared to have already understood when we went over it.
Sorry for rambling..I am just not sure what to do next. I am having the hardest time little go of the school brain. He clearly does not learn well with the textbook style teaching. I just feel like I am floundering. :(