Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How do I unschool?

Posted by on Feb. 6, 2013 at 1:39 PM
  • 11 Replies
  • 324 Total Views

Hello, I want to know how to unschool. I have been teaching my son now for 2 years through the Idaho Virtual Acadamy and I HATE it. I feel like we are constanly on guard to be where the school wants us to be and it is not enjoyable anymore to us. At the beginning of the day we are dreading the start and by the end of the day we are both in tears. Can someone please explain to me how to do this. Thanks.

by on Feb. 6, 2013 at 1:39 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
faeriemom1972
by Member on Feb. 6, 2013 at 10:28 PM
2 moms liked this

My son is only 6 (7 in April), so I still consider myself new at this. I guess, technically I have 6 years of experience, lol. My husband loved the idea of unschooling, but I was skeptical. In September of the year my son would have started kindergarten, I was determined to 'make it like school'. Lol, that lasted about 30 minutes. We sat down with a workbook, my wonderful, bright, happy, funny son was in tears and frustrated within 15 minutes. I threw the work book in the recycle bin and promised we would never do that again unless he wanted to. We went outside and played in the yard for much of the day. It was a year before he wanted to pick up a crayon again. I don't know how to unschool, or maybe I don't know how to not unschool. We just live our lives. Today we fed penguins at the zoo, tomorrow we are going to have a Pokemon battle with plushies. I told him my La La La Loopsies will take his Pokemon down. He replied 'challenge accepted'. He's been looking forward to this battle all day, lol. I may need 3 cups of coffee tomorrow :) 

LindaClement
by Group Owner on Feb. 7, 2013 at 1:43 AM
1 mom liked this