Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

News & Politics News & Politics

Only 12 Of My Patients Died This Week

Posted by on Jul. 15, 2012 at 2:57 PM
  • 0 Replies

Only 12 Of My Patients Died This Week

Let me start by stating I am not a medical doctor, I am a technician in a medical supply company, which services Hospice patients. For those who are unfamiliar with what a Hospice patient is…”Hospice is a type of care that focuses on a terminally ill patient’s symptoms. Hospice care focuses on bringing comfort, self-respect, and tranquility to the dying patient. Patients’ symptoms and pain are controlled to help them- however the focus is providing care, not curing in their last days.”

My job is to set up [and remove] the hospital beds, oxygen machines, nebulizers, ventilator and other machines, supply liquid feeding formulas, supply every other medical supplies needed like syringes, medications, wheelchairs, hydraulic lifts and the like, for the patients’ needs in an effort to prolong their lives…which varies from a day to a few months. This is usually done at the patient’s home, after the hospital has discharged the person with the specific expectation of them dying at home. ( I work 12 to 15 hour days, hence I do not write here as often as I would like to. )

It is common for a small company with 10 techs like myself, who together fill on average 80 orders a day, to have a weekly death rate of 10 to 20 patients, there are many larger companies with 50 or more techs and they service upwards of 500 orders per day…their weekly death rate is a lot more obviously. I know this because I am a sub-contractor for a larger company.

This article is about health care and the ‘Patient’s Protection and Affordable Care Act” otherwise known as ‘Obamacare’