Inside the Kitchen

Your guide to creating meal magic every day - from cooking to baking to entertaining for any occasion.

Group Home

i need some suggestions on cakes

Posted by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 1:43 AM
  • 23 Replies
My youngest will be 6 next month. I'm a good cook but not so much a baker so I usually buy birthday cakes. She wants me to make one. Now I know I could look up a recipe but I want one from someone who had tried one and liked it. She wants the cake to have a filling. Then icing or fondant ( I don't know how on that either ). She wants something on top I guess she means a garnish not sure. So I need a good recipe and tips on how to decorate. Please & thank you. I will be back later to check as I have only a few hours to sleep before work.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 1:43 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
proudmommy690
by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 10:15 AM
Yikes i cant make cakes. Good luck.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
charlene_kyle
by Charlene on Jan. 10, 2013 at 10:38 AM

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/marshmallow-fondant/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=marshmellow%20fondant&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page

^^ This is a recipe for Marshmellow fondant. I have never personally made it but I have heard from others that it is great.

othermom
by Danelle on Jan. 10, 2013 at 10:51 AM

I use a box mix and use two round cake pans then frost in the middle of them

Bradensmommy719
by Bronze Member on Jan. 10, 2013 at 11:58 AM
1 mom liked this
This would be the easiest for you.
If you are not good at baking I would not suggest to try and make a cake from scratch. Let her choose the cake mix and frosting and I know so stores are now selling themed sugar designs you can decorate a cake with. She could also help.

Quoting othermom:

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Godspitgrl
by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 2:07 PM