Inside the Kitchen

Your guide to creating meal magic every day - from cooking to baking to entertaining for any occasion.

Group Home

i need some suggestions on cakes

Posted by   + Show Post
My youngest will be 6 next month. I'm a good cook but not so much a baker so I usually buy birthday cakes. She wants me to make one. Now I know I could look up a recipe but I want one from someone who had tried one and liked it. She wants the cake to have a filling. Then icing or fondant ( I don't know how on that either ). She wants something on top I guess she means a garnish not sure. So I need a good recipe and tips on how to decorate. Please & thank you. I will be back later to check as I have only a few hours to sleep before work.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 1:43 AM
Replies (21-23):
Kainalu55
by Member on Jan. 16, 2013 at 10:49 PM

Definitely check Pinterest for ideas!

The_Doodle
by Member on Jan. 16, 2013 at 10:59 PM

I would do the box of cake mix with two round pans like others have suggested. Also, I use boxed mix and I do this to it to make it taste better: look at the directions on what to use and use an extra egg, double the oil amount BUT use melted butter instead of oil, and use milk instead of water. It makes the cake taste so much better and not as oily!

As for the decorations...I would skip the fondant and try to use it during the year for next year. It is easy to make a cake look nice with just icing. I'd find a basic icing tip and bag kit and make some homemade icing. Here is my mom's recipe that I have used and  everyone loves it:

2 boxes of confectioner's sugar 

1 cup Crisco

2/3 cup warm milk

1 tsp vanilla

pinch salt

Mix salt, vanilla, and crisco together. Add sugar a little at a time until mixed in. Then add warm milk (NOT HOT). You can't overbeat it.

timon95
by Bronze Member on Jan. 16, 2013 at 11:09 PM