Inside the Kitchen

Your guide to creating meal magic every day - from cooking to baking to entertaining for any occasion.

Group Home

i need some suggestions on cakes

Posted by   + Show Post
My youngest will be 6 next month. I'm a good cook but not so much a baker so I usually buy birthday cakes. She wants me to make one. Now I know I could look up a recipe but I want one from someone who had tried one and liked it. She wants the cake to have a filling. Then icing or fondant ( I don't know how on that either ). She wants something on top I guess she means a garnish not sure. So I need a good recipe and tips on how to decorate. Please & thank you. I will be back later to check as I have only a few hours to sleep before work.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 1:43 AM
Replies (11-20):
MonarchMom22
by Member on Jan. 11, 2013 at 12:34 PM

If you look at the recipes from Family Fun magazine you can't go wrong.  They are all designed to do with kids, not too complicated, and have adorable easy decorating ideas.

http://spoonful.com/recipes/dessert-recipes/cakes-cupcakes

campingmomof4
by Bronze Member on Jan. 11, 2013 at 1:08 PM

I make Jello Poke cakes alot for my kids.   They love them.  Easy to make.  

MonarchMom22
by Member on Jan. 11, 2013 at 1:45 PM

that's a great idea!  You can do it with a scratch cake or cake mix, they are colorful and dramatic.

elijahsmama09
by Member on Jan. 11, 2013 at 4:35 PM

I have something perfect for you! Anyone can decorate a cake like this. 

http://www.brasstacksandbasics.com/2011/08/super-fancy-cake-decorating-tutorial.html?m=1

As far as a cake recipe? Use a cake mix, that says moist. You can not duplicate that kind of moisture in the kitchen as a mix. Its cheap and easy too. Homemade cake is notoriously dry. MY favorite is Duncan Hines.