Inside the Kitchen

Your guide to creating meal magic every day - from cooking to baking to entertaining for any occasion.

Group Home

Meatloaf & Mashed Taters Needed

Posted by on Dec. 18, 2013 at 12:23 AM
  • 26 Replies

I am cooking meatloaf and mashed taters for an emotionally down and out man who is a loose business associate. He's so down on himself that I had to tell him that "Friends don't let friends demean themselves. Get your ass over here for a good dinner, good wine and great conversation."  Then I asked him what he wanted to eat...because I'm a chef...I can cook anything but eel...he said meatloaf...

My favorite meatloaf is good ground chuck with bell peppers, onions, seasoning, bread of some kind, eggs, ketchup and a real thick ketchup frosting baked on top of the loaf.

I like stiff whipped mashed taters, skins included, with sour cream and cheese.

I told him that I'd run the meatloaf ingredients by him before he's coming to dinner this Monday because there are so many meatloaf variations. He said I couldn't make a meatloaf he wouldn't like. I bet I could if I chef it up and make it too fancy. THIS IS OKLAHOMA, men are simple here. Real simple. Feed them and they're pretty easy to get along with.

What are your favorite meatloaf & mashed tater recipes?

by on Dec. 18, 2013 at 12:23 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
kaybear123
by Kayla on Dec. 18, 2013 at 12:46 AM
I hate meatloaf but we usually make it with ground beef, bread crumbs, one egg, ketchup, mustard, onions, cheese.
Honeygator
by on Dec. 18, 2013 at 1:04 AM

Hi Kaybear, so you hate meatloaf, so who makes it and who eats it? ROFL!

Mustard is interesting, never thought about putting mustard in meatloaf. What kind of mustard?

batjmom
by Sarah on Dec. 18, 2013 at 5:48 AM
I don't eat meatloaf however I will make it for my kids and husband. I usually try a new recipe when I made it.
michiganmom116
by Rhonda on Dec. 18, 2013 at 6:24 AM