Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Pies and vegetable casserole....

Posted by on Oct. 15, 2014 at 12:44 PM
  • 12 Replies
Hello ladies! My MIL asked me to bring something to a birthday potluck. I offered to bring a vegetable casserole and a pie. Now, for some background, my in-laws are very good at baking, cooking, crafting etc. They are very supportive of the fact that I am still learning what they grew up with their whole lives. But I really really want to impress them. Its a birthday for her mother and son-in-law. Does anyone know any easy wow me recipe for pies, cobblers, or vegetable casseroles? I have some in mind...but would like something "fresh".
by on Oct. 15, 2014 at 12:44 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
sweetheart4171
by Peggy on Oct. 15, 2014 at 5:16 PM
1 mom liked this

I don't have anything off hand that I've done but looked some up for you

Winter Vegetable Casserole

• 1/3  large head cauliflower, cut into flowerets
  • 1/2  small bunch broccoli, cut into flowerets
  • 2   carrots, peeled and sliced into rounds
  • 4   tablespoons butter
  • 1/4  cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2  teaspoon salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2   cups milk
  • 1   tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2  cups (6 ounces) sharp cheddar cheese, cubed
  • 1   cup soft fresh bread crumbs
  • 1   tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1/2  teaspoon ground paprika
  •  
    Pinch of ground nutmeg
  • 2   tablespoons butter, melted
Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Steam cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots in water just until tender, about 6 minutes. Set aside.