Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Middletown mixes history with variety

Posted by on Oct. 2, 2012 at 10:44 AM
  • 6 Replies

http://www.centralpennparent.com/Heres-The-Scoop/October-2012/Middletown-mixes-history-with-variety/

Oct 2, 2012 - 07:58 AM
Middletown mixes history with variety

For my latest town tour, I headed south of Harrisburg to Three Mile Island.

Technically I was visiting Middletown, but at one point I got turned around and went further south than I thought and ended up next to the giant steam stacks of the infamous nuclear plant down the river.

I studied Three Mile Island in political science class in college, so it was pretty cool to actually see the enormous structure.

After driving by the plant, I turned around and stopped off in my intended destination: Middletown.

The first things I noticed were the old buildings and a few Victorian-styled manors. Founded in 1755, Middletown is the oldest community in Dauphin County.

I drove around a bit before hitting the library, mainly because I knew next-to-nothing about the town. I figured a community center-type place like the library would be a good start.

I was right, as the librarian at the desk was a great resource in helping me on my tour. She has worked in Middletown for 15 years and considers it a second home. She recommended the Brownstone Café and Elks Theater and she suggested I return in June for a big craft fair.

The library—like many of the downtown buildings—was very old and weathered but full of books and computers and comfortable furniture.

I left the library and wandered to the Brownstone Café, which I expected would be something like Starbucks, but it was more like a diner or family restaurant set in what looks like an old bank in a historic brown building.