Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Pennsylvania Moms Pennsylvania Moms

A tour through Pickle Town

Posted by on Jan. 28, 2013 at 11:26 AM
  • 8 Replies

http://www.centralpennparent.com/Heres-The-Scoop/January-2013/A-tour-through-Pickle-Town/

Jan 28, 2013 - 08:08 AM
A tour through Pickle Town

If you’re like me, when you hear “Dillsburg” you think of the country version of the Bob Ruth Ford song crooning, “We’ve got them there deals, only in Deals-burg.”

What you may not realize is whether you like the song or not, there’s a lot more to the town than a repetitive jingle that gets stuck in your head.

I have very little knowledge of Dillsburg beyond Haar’s Drive-In Theatre (great value and fun summer activity) and the GIANT Food Store along Route 15. I have also been to the high school’s soccer fields a few times, but never took the time to walk through the town.

As one resident told me, “blink and you miss it.”

My journey started down Route 15 and my first stop was at the plaza called Village Shops. It had a martial arts studio and nail salon, but also The Book House (11 N. Route 15).

The place was very full of used books as well as toy cars. The shelves were old and wooden and the place had a historic yet neat feel to it. I learned a couple has owned it for more than 30 years, and they often attend book conventions where they get autographs to sell.

Visitors can trade in old books for store credit, with which they can use to buy other books. I was told science fiction fans and history buffs in particular would find many treasures on their shelves.

Next door was Fantastic Finds, a consignment shop for women with quality clothes and accessories. The owner said high-schoolers often shop there. She recommended I check out The Pickle Nickel in town, a new spot families would love.