Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New Hampshire Moms New Hampshire Moms

Stay at home mom vs. work??

Posted by on Apr. 30, 2013 at 7:56 AM
  • 17 Replies

Are any of you mom's out there stay at home mom's???

If so how did you decide to take that route? Financially it's hard to decide what is the best way.

Pros/cons??

Hope everyone had a great weekend. Soooo looking forward to this summer weather with family. We are boaters and am looking forward to some time on the sandbar!!!

by on Apr. 30, 2013 at 7:56 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
AmesCSki
by Amy on Apr. 30, 2013 at 8:09 AM
I stay home with my daughter. She just turned one. I always said when I had kids I would stay home at least for a little while. I miss working very much--I'm an attorney by education and practiced law for only 2 years before having my daughter. Given the amount of my law school loans I really shouldn't be at home! But also the job market is tough--there are very few jobs in northern Mass and even fewer in southern NH. I look off and on but haven't been too serious about the job search yet.
We are lucky in that DH makes enough money for me to stay home but it also takes sacrifice..like we don't get to go out and have dates very much (it's been about 6 months!) and we've not been able to finish furnishing our house.
But we make it work and I consider myself very lucky to be able to be home with my little one and experience the early years.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
chicken13
by Group Admin on Apr. 30, 2013 at 8:50 AM

What works for one family won't necessarily work for yours. 

I stay home.  My dd is 13 and I worked until she was 5.  I had a successful career and we lived in NJ, suburb town off the NYC line.  We wanted more of our time back.  Dh works long hours, I worked long hours...it was crazy.

in order to make it work, we sold our house and moved to NH.