Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Gymnastics

Posted by on May. 24, 2013 at 5:34 PM
  • 14 Replies

Was anyone here involved in gymnastics or have had their children participate in it?  I always did team sports when I was younger until after I graduated high school and got into running and personal fitness.  Somehow my 5 year old girls decided they wanted to try gymnastics.  Where do kids get these ideas?  I am not sure I ever talked to them about gymnastics or saw it on tv with them. Their father was (still is) hoping they eventually try hockey like their older brother.

anyway....

Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.  What am I potentially getting myself into in the years to come?  I have already met a couple super crazy mothers who have their children enrolled.  They rival some of the obsessed hockey parents I have met and some hockey parents can be realllllly obsessed.

by on May. 24, 2013 at 5:34 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
ckroch
by Colleen on May. 24, 2013 at 5:39 PM
Dd did gymnastics.. Till she went to school. Then she preferred school sports
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
ssunshine360
by Member on May. 24, 2013 at 5:49 PM

Caitlyn and Chloe are enjoying it for now.  It is the first major activity that is all their own so I want to support them as best I can.  Part of me hopes that they eventually choose like your daughter did.  Time will tell!

Quoting ckroch:

Dd did gymnastics.. Till she went to school. Then she preferred school sports

Crissy2424
by on May. 24, 2013 at 6:21 PM

My daughter is 4 and has been doing gymnastics for about a month. She was hesitant at first, but loves it now. They just stretch, run around and under a big parachute and they jump on mini trampolines. She loves it!

rosemagic01
by Holli on May. 24, 2013 at 6:28 PM