Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Ohio Moms Ohio Moms

Child Support In Ohio

Posted by on Feb. 4, 2013 at 8:44 PM
  • 14 Replies

Hey ladies I am a resident in Dayton Ohio. I've been collecting Child Support until the father lost his job. He owed 2,220 In back child support. He filed through Turbo Tax on the 30th of Jan and got his acceptance yesterday saying he'll be getting his refund DD on the 7th (Thursday) Well he got the majority of his taxes taken out for the back pay. So my question being how long did it take for you ladies or know someone who was in this situation for the money taken out of taxes to be put on your Eppicard????

by on Feb. 4, 2013 at 8:44 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
johnny4ever
by on Feb. 5, 2013 at 6:34 AM

Bump for help!Glad you are getting some Child Support!

karone04
by Member on Feb. 5, 2013 at 7:27 AM
1 mom liked this

This is what I found:

https://www.ohiobar.org/forpublic/resources/lawyoucanuse/pages/lawyoucanuse-609.aspx

Q: How soon will I receive the federal tax refund money from my former spouse for back child support?
A: 
Once the federal IRS receives a tax collection, it takes approximately 30 - 45 days to complete the processing and post the payments to child support cases.  If the tax intercept was received from a joint tax return, monies are automatically held for six months from the date of processing to allow an injured spouse claim to be filed. Federal tax refunds are used to pay child support arrears only.  Currently, any arrears owed to the State of Ohio will be paid before arrears are paid to the family.

mem82
by Representative on Feb. 5, 2013 at 9:01 AM

BUMP no clue. Good luck!

mizz_jonez8956
by Member on Feb. 5, 2013 at 12:33 PM

Thought so I hate the state they take their sweet freaking time but don't take their time to take the money from his taxes!!!

Mommyof1014