Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Are you a dog rescuer? Tell me about your rescues here

Posted by on Sep. 23, 2012 at 7:48 PM
  • 2 Replies
  • 110 Total Views

I have a dog rescue. It is called the Animal House and it is ran out of my house. I basically just take in and foster animals from overcrowded shelters and rescues. I also take in surrenders from owners and help give strays a place to stay until I either find their owners or find them a new home.  I don't have a website. I get all the rescues by just talking to other rescuers and posting fliers up in my workplace ( I am a vet tech and I work in a clinic). So far I have placed about 30 dogs since I started this last year.  It doesn't sound like a lot but it is. 

I have 5 rescued dogs and 1 dog from a reputable breeder. 

So tell me about you. Do you rescue. Do you own a rescued dog? 

by on Sep. 23, 2012 at 7:48 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-2):
marshsmom
by Member on Sep. 24, 2012 at 3:25 PM

I am a volunteer for a local rescue and I do occasional independant rescues.  I own 3 rescued dogs:

Tucker - mixed breed adopted as a puppy from the SPCA

Tulip - A bloodhound, she was a death row dog at a gassing facility

Mitzi - A papillon, Rescued from a high kill shelter, her owners surrendered her to be PTS, but that never happened :)

I also have 2 adopted cats.

My foster babies are a senior black lab. a 2 year old bassador and my most recent a pitty saved from death row the day she was to be destroyed.  SHe is an independant, as no rescues would pull her.  You can learn more about her here:  http://www.facebook.com/eviesjourney

I also have a group here on CafeMom!  See my siggy for a link!

mamom01
by on Nov. 18, 2012 at 11:36 PM

I also rescue independently occassionally.  I've cut back drastically due to finances. We have 3 dogs, 2 cats, and 2 birds.