Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Do you ever buy expensive clothing for you kids?

Posted by on Jan. 17, 2013 at 9:42 AM
  • 19 Replies

If so, what kind of brands do you like, and why?

I'm a student and mother of two, and I'm currently writing my master's thesis on parents' consumption of upmarket clothing for young children, and I would love it if someone would be give me another reason apart from the great quality of the clothes.

If you don't want to say why you buy expensive clothing for your children, or you simply don't buy them, why do you think some people do?

I am also looking for participants in my study, so if you are interested please message me :)

by on Jan. 17, 2013 at 9:42 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lish2127
by Member on Jan. 17, 2013 at 1:33 PM

I used to when I only had one kid. Now with 3, it's a matter of cost. I do appreciate quality clothing because it lasts longer, fits better, and looks cute, but in reality kids grow fast and get things dirty and worn out. I think it's fine to have a few nicer items, but balanced out with practical, comfortable, affordable clothes as well.

wakymom
by Member on Jan. 17, 2013 at 1:57 PM
3 moms liked this

I don't buy really expensive things b/c they outgrow it so fast. The closest I've gotten to "expensive" was when I was buying ds1 only Levi's jeans- he needed an oddball size 11, and they were the only brand I could find that in.

I think some people buy the expensive clothes as a status thing- "Look at what I can afford to buy my kid!"

HisUsmcWifey
by on Jan. 18, 2013 at 2:31 AM
1 mom liked this

yes I do. I only buy name brand clothes for Gianna. I typically buy her gymboree, naartjje, gap, Janie and Jack, Matilda Jane, and customs.

hkcason
by New Member on Jan. 18, 2013 at 3:18 PM