Advertisement Cafemom and Target Present: Mad Life
Helping today’s parents improve their relationships, feel better about themselves and raise happy, health kids.

Wise Words From Graduation Speeches

Posted by   + Show Post

So, in our house, there really isn't anyone graduating...Kiddo had a little ceremony where they "move up" from Kindergarten to first grade and that was about it. And I know next year, there definitely isn't anything even remotely ceremonial.

I don't remember who gave the commencement speech when I graduated college back in 1994. But every year, about this time I love reading the transcripts of commencement speeches that famous folks - authors, politicians, business leaders, actors - give to those about to leave school to start the rest of their lives. I kind of use it as a reminder, recalling what it was like to embark on that journey, an annual check-in on how I'm doing with that life lived to the fullest kind of thing... which can get so lost in the everyday of every day. 

There are some great words of wisdom and advice that folks have passed along to graduates and one of my all-time favorites is from what the author David Foster Wallace said to the graduating class of Kenyon College in 2005. It was recently made into a video you can watch here on You Tube. I just love it. All of it. But here's a little blurb:

"Learning how to think really means learning how to exercise some control over how and what you think. It means being conscious and aware enough to choose what you pay attention to and to choose how you construct meaning from experience. Because if you cannot exercise this kind of choice in adult life, you will be totally hosed...You get to consciously decide what has meaning and what doesn't. It is about simple awareness - awareness of what is so real and essential, so hidden in plain sight all around us...The way you perceive and react to the world is a choice."