Advertisement
Cafemom and Target Present: Mad Life
Helping today’s parents improve their relationships, feel better about themselves and raise happy, health kids.

Opening birthday party presents?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 39 Replies

Just wondering, since I'm still pretty new to the children's birthday party scene - Do parents have strong feelings either for or against gifts being opened at children's birthday parties? In the past, we thought it would be more polite to open gifts right there at the birthday party. But I'm starting to wonder if this puts too much emphasis on the gifts and not the other communal aspects of the party. It is also a whole lot of stimulation. And also don't want to put anyone on the spot if they arrive without a gift or give a small gift. Has anyone had the experience of opening them after the party? I'm not even sure, is there any etiquette issues here? Are the gift givers disappointed not to see them opened?

Posted by Anonymous on Jun. 9, 2014 at 10:39 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
othermom
by Gold Member on Jun. 9, 2014 at 11:05 AM

We have family parties and open the gift with our family at the party

LindaClement
by Gold Member on Jun. 9, 2014 at 11:10 AM
1 mom liked this

The givers like to see the reaction of the birthday kid... so at the party makes sense to me.

We never opened grandparent presents at kid parties, though. Family gifts were opened on the child's birthday, after dinner, with cake and visitors (aunts, uncles, grands, etc.)

Kids party invitations set a value limit on gifts, mostly because our kids were already completely snowed under in stuff, but also because I had no interest at all in replicating the most awful moment of a friend's young life: giving a friend a homemade, personal gift next to someone else who brought something worth hundreds of dollars...

GypsiSky
by Silver Member on Jun. 9, 2014 at 11:57 AM
1 mom liked this