Advertisement
Cafemom and Target Present: Mad Life
Helping today’s parents improve their relationships, feel better about themselves and raise happy, health kids.

Raising Boys vs Raising Girls

Posted by on Jul. 8, 2014 at 12:00 AM
  • 48 Replies

We just spent a few days at the beach home of a family we know. They have a daughter the same age as Kiddo and a son one year older. They invited us and two other families to hang for a few days - the other families have boys of various ages...so, obviously, we had a full house of kids and adults, playing in the pool, hitting the beach, and eating yummies from the grill.

All of our kids are "good" kids...good kids with some of those moments, of course. I have to say, it was interesting to be in a house with boys. As a writer, I find myself just watching at times, taking in interactions -- those with words and those that were just physical.

It's been said over and over boys are different than girls. The whole "Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus" idea isn't all that off. Biologically, hormonally, all of the above, we are different. Not that I didn't notice this before this past week, I just never hung out 24-7, days on end with boys. I had a sister, no brothers, no boy cousins that lived nearby to be like brothers.

In watching these families of boys, I was keenly into the question that rumbled in my brain: Is raising boys different than raising girls? We've all read more than we need to on gender-specific kids issues, how being a parent of a (insert boy or girl here) is harder/easier/more intense/crazier/whatever the author wants to spout...and I can see some ways where it may be different, but at the heart of it, if you are raising boys or girls, we are all raising people right? Individual, one-of-a-kind, with different needs and personalities no matter what gender people. We are all trying to arm them with knowledge and goodness of heart and confidence...and I could go on and on.