Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Venting Booth The Venting Booth

Effective communication skills...

Posted by on Apr. 7, 2013 at 8:37 AM
  • 4 Replies

Why is it that most people that lack effective communication skills have little to no desire to correct this problem? Maybe it's because they really don't know that it's a problem? Maybe they don't think that their communication skills are that bad? I don't know the answer, I'm not looking for one. I just find it terribly sad that people aren't given the tools to communicate effectively in their life as children. I'm not perfect in any way. I didn't learn how communicate effectively until recently and I'm in my 30's...hell, I'm still learning. How can we prevent this from happening to our children? We must strive to make our children better people than we are correct? Learn from our mistakes with the hopes that they will too? That's why we talk to our kids, teach them, and most importantly, learn from them as well...isn't it? I've made a ton of mistakes and mother and I am more than willing to own to them. I've made even more mistakes as a person, which I am willing to own them as well. That's the first step to me anyway. Instead of focusing on the problem, try focusing on the solution. Don't worry so much as to how it got there just yet. Focus on how to get out of it, then focus on how not to get there again. That's what my hubs does and I try to take my cue from him in that manner. That is all.

by on Apr. 7, 2013 at 8:37 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Apr. 7, 2013 at 8:44 AM

people just get stuck in their ways, and have a hard time changing...when a person gets fed up, that's when change takes place

kss12
by Member on Apr. 7, 2013 at 8:54 AM