Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I'm not enough

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 6 Replies
Have you ever felt like what you're doing, your role in your family, the things you do because you're the one who has to do them- those things aren't what you're good at?

I was a teacher. I was a good teacher, and a better mommy for doing something I loved. I had fun with my daughter. We had fun together, and I felt like the time I spent with her was worth something.

Them I got laid off. And that was ok-my husbands job was sufficient, I didn't have to work to support us.

We had our second child when my daughter was almost five. He was three months old when my good-for-nothing SIL went nuts. We got custody of her three kids. I stopped nursing six months later and immediately got pregnant.

I feel like my life has spiraled out of my control, since the day we brought the nephews home. I hate being a stay at home mom. I hate that the raising of six children-three of whom don't want me to be their parent-falls mostly on my shoulders. I feel like my life has devolved into one mess after another and mismatched socks and constantly telling one child or another 'no' or 'stop that' or 'go to your room'.

I hate cleaning up after everyone. The dishes, the laundry, spilled milk, toys everywhere. This is not what I was meant to be. It's not really the type of wife and mommy I ever envisioned myself being. I'm not good at it, but it gets done. Eventually.

I haven't had a single interview for a teaching position. Schools hire student teachers, but that's about it. I worked briefly as the director of a daycare, but my husband got promoted and we moved away.

I just want to be that mom again, who loves and is loved in return, with joy and excitement. I just don't know how to get back there.
Posted by Anonymous on Jul. 16, 2013 at 4:43 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.