Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Venting Booth The Venting Booth

Laughing Stock of the Psych Floor

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 27 Replies
4 moms liked this

Sorry so long.....

Today a colleague of mine told me something that upset me.  Upsetting, because I have heard it too many times, and not just from my colleagues, but from my patients as well. I'm a nurse who work multiple jobs, but one of my jobs just happens to be as a mental health nurse. I was trained and educated through school and nurse meetings "to avoid dismissing physical symptoms as part of psych illness without appropriate assessment." For this reason, every psych patient that comes to me and complain of physical symptoms, I assess.  Some have been moved from the psych floor, to a medical floor, because they are genuinely physically ill. To me a good psych nurse see's individuals, are good communicators, listen's and empathize.  This truly is a field where "silence is golden," since some patients just wants to be heard.  Like the schizophrenic with the flat affect, who thinks someone is conspiring to kill them, because of his auditory hallucinations, and the stress and sorrow of the family members, who are afraid that the person they once knew may harm them or their self.  Or the suicidal bipolar mother who once had a career as a sales person, that stays up late at night at times due to insomnia because she thinks it is normal and this is what all mother's do, what about the days she can't seem to move herself from her bed because she is too tired, and can't seem to focus, the high's and low's, or shall I say the fluctuating moods of bipolar disorder, and the neglect, financial problems, inability to communicate, stress, compensation, instability and parenting that it causes family members.  What about the bread winning dad who had his first psychotic break and could barely function at a child's level, who is paranoi