Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

dinner time frustrations

Posted by on Feb. 14, 2014 at 10:05 PM
  • 12 Replies

Hi. I am new to cafe mom and this is my first post in this group. I need to know if this happens to anyone else an  What if anything you guys do about it. I am a sahm of two girls (ages 9 and 6) and a husband who might as well be a kid. Every evening without fail, I cook, I fix all their plates and drinks, and by the time I sit down to eat they have all finished an  left the table and I am left sitting there, eating alone. Tonight we had a family Valentine's day. I even said no one eats til we are all sitting together....they still finished before me and one by one left. My husband is almost always the first to finish and get up and the kids follow suit. This upsets me. Am I being over dramatic? Suggestions?

by on Feb. 14, 2014 at 10:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lulalacroix
by Bronze Member on Feb. 15, 2014 at 4:07 AM
2 moms liked this

No, you aren't being overdramatic.  You just need to change how you serve dinner.  Put all the plates and food on the table.  Call everyone in to sit down and then serve their plates.  My kids aren't allowed to leave the table until they are excused.  My dh is respectful enough not to leave until everyone is done eating.  Our meal time is a lot of fun and a great time for us to enjoy each other.

schultzal
by on Feb. 15, 2014 at 4:36 AM
2 moms liked this
No one leaves the table until we are all done, in my family. That's how it was when I was growing up, and how it will continue to be.
nanny1918
by Silver Member on Feb. 16, 2014 at 10:29 PM
1 mom liked this
Have you spoken to your husband about this ? Why don't you have your children help serve the food and your husband get the drinks, so you all sit down to the table at the same time.
Rhodin
by on Feb. 16, 2014 at 10:53 PM