Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Venting Booth The Venting Booth

The company where I contract at did not send flowers

Posted by on Jun. 13, 2014 at 1:40 PM
  • 28 Replies
Hi. I know this is the past and what is done is done but still wanted to vent. I have been contracting for 3 years at a multi billion dollar biotech firm. My sister in law died last November. She had severe Down's syndrome. I did not expect to get paid for bereavement leave but I think it's very shitty that they did not send flowers. I think that's because I am a contractor. But still I was thinking about it this week for some reason. I guess because I had to ask my boss to plz approve my time sheet electronically. Asked her 3x. Guess I am still mad about not getting any sympathy flowers last year. Thanks for letting me vent
by on Jun. 13, 2014 at 1:40 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jun. 13, 2014 at 1:42 PM
1 mom liked this
What did she die from, and how old? I'm sorry for your loss, and I wouldn't have expected them to send flowers for your family member.
marymad07
by Member on Jun. 13, 2014 at 1:53 PM
She was 49 and had end stage dementia. My husbands company did sent flowers and received a prompt thank you
Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jun. 13, 2014 at 2:09 PM
3 moms liked this

The place i work for sends flowers only for immediate family.  Not in laws.

Anonymous
by Anonymous on Jun. 13, 2014 at 2:11 PM
1 mom liked this
Most companies send flowers for immediate family members of the employee. Also, you are a CONTRACTOR...not a permanent. Big difference. You are being petty.
KsAangel25
by Member on Jun. 13, 2014 at 2:51 PM
An independent contact that I worked with was with the company since 1941. I was sad and disgusted that the company not only did not send flowers. No one even came to the funeral.
marymad07