Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Where are my SNAKE mamas.... HELP!

Posted by on Jul. 27, 2014 at 12:12 PM
  • 11 Replies

OK ive been rescuing and adopting out snakes since i was 12 so 13 years but I must say Ive never had newborns...And im not sure what to do with this one. I got my daughter a 5 day old Corn snake for her birthday on July 15th. It ate a dead mouse on July 15th. Then on July 21st it was for sure hungry striking the glass at anything that moved. SO we tried another mouse and have been trying daily since and it wont eat...Live or dead BUT it will curl up with it for warmth Lol but the tank is warm its at 87 currently. Its got water and everything. its not in the blue and its friendly again(not striking at us) 

Ive never had a snake not eat before so i have no idea what to do. I did poke it to get the blood and scent out(dead one not live yall) I tried the dark box. Its head is the size of a pencil eraser not even that big i cant really help him out much more without squishing him...Ideas?

Like Free stuff? Come check us out! We have Frugal Ideas, Freebies, Sweepstakes, Instant win games & more! Even ways to Earn Money. ]C8lin's Freebie Page 100% Free stuff! Group - CafeMom

by on Jul. 27, 2014 at 12:12 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Jul. 27, 2014 at 12:14 PM
1 mom liked this
The snake could be stressed out. Just leave him be for a week and then feed him. Then do not touch him for two days after he finally eats
lilmama8408
by Bronze Member on Jul. 27, 2014 at 12:17 PM
I thought snakes went a time without eating. My stepbrother had Gardner snakes and they got fed maybe once a week
Anonymous
by Anonymous 2 on Jul. 27, 2014 at 12:19 PM

This. Are you feeding him in a separate tank so that he doesn't associate any movement in his habitat as food?