Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Venting Booth The Venting Booth

I feel like a failure because I can't do my biracial child's hair..

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 109 Replies
I'm white and DH is black. We have a beautiful daughter. Lately, I've been really stressed out over hair hair. I can't do the pretty hairstyles that her cousins usually have (braids, twists etc). I feel like she'll resent me later on because of this. I'm worried I'll end up ruining her hair. I can't even make a straight part! I feel like a failure. Especially since black women always put down white women who can't do their mixed race child's hair properly. My DHs ex actually said I'm a bad mom because I don't know how to do my daughters hair and as a mother that is something I should know.

I try to practice but I just can't do it. I could never even do my own hair. It's just something I'm not good at :( whenever I try, I get really stressed out and upset. I don't get why it upsets me so much but it really is lately!
Posted by Anonymous on Aug. 6, 2014 at 12:47 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
amonkeymom
by Silver Member on Aug. 6, 2014 at 1:10 PM
1 mom liked this

Have you tried asking your DH's mom or sisters/sisters in law how to do it?  Tried learning from youtube videos?

You're not a failure, you just don't have that experience, yet.  You'll get there.

SWEET737
by Member on Aug. 6, 2014 at 1:14 PM

keep practicing and keep looking at you tube videos. If she has a hair styling doll head at home, You should even practice on that. If you keep at it, it will finally come to you. What hair type does your daughter have? 

MrsWhite101610
by Member on Aug. 6, 2014 at 1:15 PM
2 moms liked this