Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Venting Booth The Venting Booth

Dinner time drama

Posted by on Aug. 20, 2014 at 7:33 PM
  • 243 Replies

I cook a lot. I am a trained chef. So my meals are good if I may so so myself. But my daughter is ridiculously picky. I mean ridiculous. I made homemade chicken alfredo tonight and roasted broccoli on the side. She refused to eat the pasta or the chicken at all. I cut her portion in half and asked her to eat half because it was not anything unusual and she still refused. I told her if she would not eat her dinner then she needed to go to bed. So she said fine I would rather go to bed. I don't want her to go to bed hungry and I do not want to fight. How do you punish your children when they refuse to eat? Do you let them get away with it? I am so annoyed and aggravated. 

by on Aug. 20, 2014 at 7:33 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
AmandaWiggins
by Member on Aug. 20, 2014 at 10:32 PM
1 mom liked this
My son doesn't get down from the table until what I think is enough has been eaten. One time about a year snd a half ago he sat there for over an hour and then he learned he will never win that battle. So now he eats without hesitation and he also doesn't go to bed hungry bc of that.
Anonymous
by Anonymous 1 on Aug. 20, 2014 at 11:12 PM
17 moms liked this

People are entitled to their own tastes, likes and dislikes.  Make things that are healthy that she likes.  She doesn't have to like alfredo, just becaue you are good at making it.