Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

he's manipulating everyone *edit*

Posted by on Mar. 13, 2016 at 10:15 PM
  • 18 Replies

except me. because I'm not buying into his BS

Noah (13) does everything he can to get out of doing any kind of work. My husband Rob and I have basically opposite schedules because he is a nurse and I am a teacher. Today we had a rare day of together and I got to witness Noah in all his manipulative glory. Basically, he just acts like he doesn't understand what he is supposed to do or he can't do it, etc. Rob is such a control freak he gives up super early and just does it for Noah. Today Noah was supposed to pick up a glass that broke in the kitchen. He picked up the big pieces and then told Rob "How do I get up the little bits?" and Rob explained to use a wet paper towel. After a few minutes he told Rob it wasn't working. He did this 2 more times and finally Rob sighed, got up, and did it for him. I talked to Rob about it and he admited he is sure that Noah is more capable than he acts, but Rob is a control freak and he finds it easier to just do it instead of fight it. We had to agree on fighting it because it's better in the long run. 

This is how Noah is at school too. Last year they decided he needed special ed. because he wasn't doing his homework - said he couldn't do it - wasn't getting good grades. He just doesn't do anything at school.....Well I have found that he is actually incredibly capable and just lazy. He understands the theory of relativity and can explain it better than I can....... He just doesn't want to put any effort into anything. 

*He is in therapy, and this is something that has come up in therapy recently. We are working on his behavior as a family...He has many behavioral issues which I attribute to past trauma, so I assume it can be overcome with work*

by on Mar. 13, 2016 at 10:15 PM
Add your quick reply below: