Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Is everybody nowadays just heartless?

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 21 Replies
I have been off work sick, so much so that I have had 3 trips to err in less than 2mns.They are still trying to get the diagnosis. Before all this happened, I have given my supervisor a hands up because at the beginning, there were talks of surgery. Not even one word from her. She completely got mad & stopped talking to me. A week later Dr booked me off for a week, went & gave her the Drs note, again nothing. Now this is the woman whose workstation is right beside mine& she tells me all stories about her life & enjoy conversations with my customers (I work in customer service), that's she hadn't moved me. Usually the spot where I am is reserved for new employees, for them to be closer to supervisor in case they needed help. New staff had come & she placed them elsewhere. In fact, there has been talks of moving one girl to my spot for months ( because she is so dramatic with customers & being closer to supervisor could help to keep tabs on her)&she is still hasn't done it. Anyway, went back to work after a week off& not even 'welcome back or how was your appointment?' She completely ignored me the whole time & only spoke to me when she wanted something from me. Funny enough, she asked a few of my customers how they were feeling as they came up to my station. One in particular was hospitalized with her husband.The next day a co- worker had called in sick the day before & got exactly the same treatment I got. I was just stunned!! I mean its one thing to expect hard work, commitment & all that but when you are in supervisory position, you still have the responsibility to ensure your staffs welfare especially when they go above & beyond & put in more of their own hours ( no overtime pay).