Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Curse of the Early Bird

Posted by on Apr. 18, 2013 at 12:00 AM
  • 39 Replies
1 mom liked this

Hi there! My name is Sarah Lena, and I've been writing at The Anvil Tree for almost ten years now. (Like, since we called them weblogs.)

Because I'm a mom, stepmom, and wife, I know a thing or two about being busy - just like YOU! I also fill my time with a (more than) full-time job, as well as a part-time college course-load, and because I'm clearly sadistic, I do freelance work as a writer and voice-over talent. I kindly describe myself as a Jill of all trades, master of none. And some days, it's all I can do to stay afloat.

One of the few blessings on my side is that I'm an early bird. This is not by choice, mind you - if given the opportunity, I'd like to think I can sleep in with the best of them, lounging around in faded sweats and yoga pants until the afternoon hours. I have to imagine this hypothetically, though, because .. well, as I said before, there are kids in my house. I'm a stepmom to a 12 year old boy, a mom to a five year old boy, and because WHY NOT?, I've got another boy on the way, due in June. Sleeping in is a foreign concept in my house, similar to snow and/or unicorns. They are things we fantasize about but never truly come to fruition. And we have to be okay with that.

Since I've accepted my fate as Someone Who Gets Up Early, morning shortcuts have been vital to keeping my house moving quickly. With kids in different schools (and about forty-five minutes apart), plus my own crazy schedule, routines and shortcuts and whatnot are essential to not having Child Services called on me. (It's okay if I show up to work half-dressed or dirty, but I can't let my kids look that way!)