• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The transition at work after baby - HELP!

Posted by on Dec. 30, 2013 at 6:58 PM
  • 3 Replies

It could be the pregnancy hormones, but I'm feeling very worried about working and being a first time mom. 

Right now, I work full time as a sales coordinator and a typical day has me away from home 9am until 8pm. I bring home $3,000/month. My BF is a GM of a restaurant and works about the same schedule, gone 6am until 7 or 8pm and he brings home $2,000/month. We live in Chicago and right now, we are comfortable although we live a fairly frugal lifestyle but we are able to handle unexpected costs (medical, etc.) when they arise.  When we have Baby T, we know that one of us will likely need to cut down to working part time because childcare would be far too expensive considering how much we would need to rely on it if we both stayed full time. 

We'd love to have help from family, but closest family lives nearly 5 hours away. Truly our only options are daycare, nanny or babysitters. 

My worry is that cutting down to part time might leave us with next to nothing at the end of the month after rent/bills/daycare. 

To any experienced moms out there -- how did you do it? What worked best for you? How much did you work/how much did you make that first year? What ways did you save?

Everyone around me keeps telling me, "Don't worry, you'll figure it out." But that's kind of only making me more anxious. While I'm sure it's true and I'm sure everything will come together, I'd love a little peace of mind so I can do the right research and enjoy my pregnancy without being so worrisome. 

Much thanks in advance!!!!

by on Dec. 30, 2013 at 6:58 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
slw123
by on Dec. 30, 2013 at 10:17 PM