Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Fasting

Posted by on Apr. 3, 2014 at 3:23 PM
  • 9 Replies
  • 210 Total Views

I'm testing a 40-hour fast period.  No food or water.  NO BLOODY COFFEE.  I've fasted before for weight reasons, but never for spiritual. 

I'm woefully ignorant on this topic in the spiritual realm, so I'm learning.  Any words of advice?  I'm studying it now that I'm in it.  I suppose I should pray, or meditate or something.  There's a door I'm looking to open.  This is where I was led.  I've had the X rune on me (Gebo) and I was like whoa, that's actually the law of equivalent exchange.  So here I am.

I'm hungry.  I'm thirsty.  And I can partake again at 10pm CST tomorrow.  All I remember about this is to be pleasant.  If I can't pray well, i can do some active imagination.  And not tell people I'm hungry.  Very hungry.

by on Apr. 3, 2014 at 3:23 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
PhoenixFire
by Member on Apr. 3, 2014 at 9:21 PM
1 mom liked this

When fasting that long it is actually recommended to partake of water so as not to dehydrate the body. Also, if you experience a "spiritual high," the best way to ground yourself afterwards is to drink water. Obstaining from food and drink allows you to focus on overcoming corporreal needs and instead focus on the spiritual. When you feel especially hungry, you should meditate. This allows the energy to flow freely through the body. I know that many places do a spiritual cleanse in which the participants drink only herbal teas for two days and do nothing more than meditation and light Yoga to gain a deeper sense of self as they feel the flow of energy in their body. 

MorriganzMommy
by Member on Apr. 4, 2014 at 12:57 PM

Water is cleansing, you should be drinking water.

SithMom71
by Bronze Member on Apr. 4, 2014 at 2:30 PM
Keep drinking water. You have to have that.
Tightan