Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Your "Preparing Home for Baby" Questions Answered!

Posted by on Sep. 22, 2015 at 1:44 PM
  • 27 Replies

We asked you to share your best questions for prepping your home for baby's arrival withour expert, Ashley Phipps.  Ashley's answers are below!

Ashley Phipps of Simply Designing is an interior designer by trade and a creator by nature!  She loves to figure out how to make her environment suit her needs and often, that doesn't come from a store.  She loves to dream, build and create for the world and space around her.

momofsixangels

Which paint is the safest to use in the nursery?

Paint has made so many improvements over the last 10 years and there are so many options!  This can be wonderful and overwhelming.  Keep in mind that it is not recommended for pregnant women to paint in an enclosed area (i.e. a bedroom), so enlist the help of your partner, friend or a professional.  Avoid oil based paint and use a latex paint instead.  Look a brand / line that has low VOC's.  Be sure that the room is painted with the windows open and allow the room to air out as long as possible afterwards.  Also, I recommend that you paint well before baby arrives so that the room as plenty of time to lose that "new paint" smell.  (That "new paint" smell by the way, is called off-gassing and it is literally gases being released from the paint which is why they don't recommend that you or baby be in the room during this process.)

momofsixangels

When is the best age to start putting on locks on cabinets?

Many babies learn to scoot, army crawl or even crawl around 6 months, so I recommend having your baby proofing in place prior to that age. 

SweetLuci

What items are safe or not safe for the crib?