Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hi!

Posted by on Oct. 8, 2015 at 12:31 AM
  • 6 Replies
  • 223 Total Views
Hi there!
I just have some questions! First does poly mean that everyone is with everything? Do poly groups/couples always live all together?
Perhaps I'm identifying wrong? This is all new to me so let me explain.
I'm not currently in a poly situation nor have I ever been. Ideally I'd like to maintain the 50's type home to the outside world with the openness for my husband to date other women. And for myself to date other men. Not in a purely sexual way.. But, emotionally etc actually dating...
by on Oct. 8, 2015 at 12:31 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
StormiAnn
by New Member on Oct. 12, 2015 at 8:57 PM
Bump!
poppys_mommy
by New Member on Oct. 13, 2015 at 12:06 PM

I'm new here so I'm far from an expert, but I believe what you're looking for is poly.  Not all poly folks live together and levels of involvement vary.  As I understand it, poly is just the belief that you can have multiple committed, loving relationships.

(As far as maintaining your 1950s household appearance, I think that's possible.  That's what we're trying to do right now.  However (big however!), I'm rethinking it because it's sort of changing my relationship with the world.  I have no poly friends (other than those involved in the relationship) so I can't talk about what's going on at all in a fairly major part of my life right now.  When people ask, "What's new?" and I'm thinking, "I'm in this new relationship and I'm all giddy and excited and my 6 year old just noted she's never seen me so happy..." and instead I am stuck shrugging and saying, "Eh, not much.")

StormiAnn
by New Member on Oct. 14, 2015 at 9:15 AM
Thanks for your response! :) I feel like you clarified a lot for me.