Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Are you running the Run to the beach, 5 k this weekend?

Posted by on Apr. 19, 2012 at 9:12 AM
  • 19 Replies
Gearing up for my first 5 k. I am excited and a little nervous to run my first 5 k, I have been training for the last 3 months, but the last 3 weeks I have been so busy at work, running is the last thing on my mind. So we will see how I do.
Are you running in this 5 k, or know someone that is?
How do you gear up for a 5k, do you carb up, train ect.?
Is there other races you do?
by on Apr. 19, 2012 at 9:12 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Love4you2
by Silver Member on Apr. 19, 2012 at 10:59 AM

Yay, friends to run with!   This year they also have a half-marathon course, which I've never heard of before from a non-marathon race.  I like this 5K because the course is interesting through the wooded areas and then the final stretch is across the beach!   Get up early to stretch and eat something small- I usually go with a granola bar. Dress in layers, stay warm while warming up and be able to shed a layer to run.  Should be a good time!

KatieB416
by on Apr. 19, 2012 at 12:38 PM
Good luck!!! I've ran outside the last 2 nights and felt like I was dying! Alright, slight exaggeration, but I'm pretty out of shape. I will do one this year. I just need to take training more serious.

Enjoy it! I know you'll both do great!!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Mdmooch
by Silver Member on Apr. 19, 2012 at 1:15 PM

Good luck!

carole76
by Group Admin on Apr. 19, 2012 at 4:15 PM
Thanks everyone.
Katie I am also doing the mothers day race for the metro parks maybe you can do that one with me
KatieB416
by on Apr. 19, 2012 at 9:08 PM
Is it actually on Mother's Day? I get two days a year that are devoted to me relaxing, one is my birthday (Portage Lakes 5k) and Mother's Day. Stop trying to prevent that from happening! Lol.