Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Any ideas on having a good resume and getting a nursing job???

Posted by on Feb. 23, 2010 at 7:48 AM
  • 7 Replies
  • 806 Total Views

One year and still no job..  I have over 10 years as a  Certified Medical Assistant and worked in a office I loved , but its like I have NO experience!!  I am so depresed over not working...

by on Feb. 23, 2010 at 7:48 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
midnightmoma
by on Feb. 23, 2010 at 8:06 AM

Have you taken and passed boards for RN ?   You do have experience, you just haven't worded it in a way it will stand out. Use your clinical rotations as experience.  Google nursing resumes and cover letters to help get yours in top notch. You can also go to a place that does resumes, alot of the employment places will do them for free.  How many interviews have you had, and how did they go. Were you prepared with the questions they would ask and did you ask them questions? What types of questions did you ask? This tells the interviewer alot about you and how interested you are in their company and not just getting "A JOB"..KWIM... Also how you were dressed plays a good role.  Professional dressed, min make up, no visible tattoos, etc.. Google nursing interview questions and questions to ask them.. It was really helpful.. 

I hope some of this helps.. Also play up what you have done, it will help with nursing.  I was a waitress for 10 years and went to school with three kids and a hubby. Very little medical experience and landed my dream job at a top notch hospital.. If you have specific questions please PM me and I will try to help.

Willsmom65
by Member on Feb. 24, 2010 at 3:22 PM