Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Natural Birth & Parenting Natural Birth & Parenting

Informed consent

Posted by on Dec. 4, 2010 at 11:33 PM
  • 5 Replies

This was a post in another group on here, and I wanted to see what you all think.  t

DISCLAIMER: I am NOT anti c-section for medical emergencies. I believe that women have the right to treat their bodies in how they feel is responsible, so long as it does no danger to them or their future child. I am NOT an expert on medicine or obstetrics, and have never been to medical school. I would NEVER bash a mama who has had a c-section OR a vaginal delivery.

As we all know, the c section rate is at an all-time high. I am not anti c-sections, because they can save babies and mothers from risky and potentially deadly situations. However, I think that c-sections are abused in this country.

I don't think the mother is to blame anymore either. At the same time, this generation of OB's are so used to having birth "medicalized" that cesareans seem like no big deal anymore. I don't think they have malicious intentions. We, as a society, view c-sections as just a way to deliver a baby, as opposed to major abdominal surgery. If this surgery were for any other reason than delivering a child, most people would not regard it so ligthly.

Imagine a man having his abdomen opened up completely, and having his organs moved around and put back into place three times in ten years. Something like that would seem dangerous and scary to many people.

My point is that I believe that the "mainstreaming" of c-sections has led to a decline of TRUE informed consent from us mothers. In my own experience of having a c-section, as well as those I've spoken to IRL, and read in c-section forums, as well as here in Cafe Mom, OB's do not FULLY inform patients of the pros AND cons of cesarean when an elective/non-emergency cesarean is performed.