Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Natural Birth & Parenting Natural Birth & Parenting

After some questions about carseats I decided to share my friends post.  I am an admin in carseat safety if you need help ask me, OR join Car Seat Safety!

I wanted to start a discussion about car seats, this is after all one of the most important safety devices that will help to protect your child in an event of a car crash.
Car Seat Safety is nothing to take lightly.
So let's open this discussion with some Did You knows...

DID YOU KNOW... putting your child in the car is the most dangerous thing your child does everyday?

DID YOU KNOW... motor vehicle accidents are the number 1 killer of children?

DID YOU KNOW... according to a recent NHTSA study, 3 out of 4 kids are not as secure in the car as they should be because their car seats are not being used correctly?

DID YOU KNOW... you should replace your seat if involved in a car crash?

DID YOU KNOW... you can keep your little one rear facing past the age of 1 year old and 20 pounds?  You child would be 75% less likely to die or be seriously injured and it will give your child optimal protection?

DID YOU KNOW...  the AAP (American Academy of Pediatrics) is now recommending children stay rear facing AT LEAST to the age of 2 years old and 30 pounds?

DID YOU KNOW... that the middle seat seat is not always the safest spot for a car seat?  Check both your car seat manual and your vehicle's manual to see where the best position for your seat  is!  Some vehicle's actually do not even allow you to have a car seat in the middle!

DID YOU KNOW... children under the age of 5 in booster seats are more likely to experience head and abdominal injuries than their harnessed counterparts?

DID YOU KNOW... children should remain harnessed until they are mature enough & big enough to sit in a booster, which is typically around age 6 or 7?