Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My DD is 16 mo and we have been dealing with some issues with her being cared for by DH. She just doesn't want anything to do with him.

A recent event has both DH and I concerned: I needed to take a shower and my Mom and brother were staying over. DD was unhappy that I was in the shower and DH tried to comfort her, but she screamed and reached for my Mom. It happened again and she reached for my brother, which REALLY bothered DH.

After it happened DH told me how upset it made him and I told him that it was probably because I have been doing all the care for her for the last 3-4 months. I mean EVERYTHING... diaper changes, baths, feeding her, putting her to sleep, EVERYTHING.  It was both our faults really, he didn't take initiative to help, and I didn't ask for it. It also doesn't help that he only gets to see her for about 2 hours per day, 5 days out of the week.

So I told him that he needs to some one-on-one time with her and he should start doing some of the care. He is all for it! However, since he's started (three days ago) it's gotten worse. For example, she used to love bathtime, when I would say "Time for your bath!" she would get all excited and run to the bath. Now DH says "Bathtime!" and she screams and runs to me. She protests and cries most of the time in the tub and when he's getting her ready for bed, which is tough for all of us, especially DH. It has gotten worse since the last time.

What do we do? Has anyone else experienced this kind of thing? Is this the kind of thing that gets worse before it gets better? What can he do to fix the bond with her? Are there some books you can suggest for him to read? We are really desperate for some help.

CafeMom Tickers
by on Aug. 29, 2012 at 11:34 PM
Replies (11-17):
Klbushman
by on Aug. 30, 2012 at 8:15 PM
1 mom liked this