Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Question re: API's "Practice Positive Discipline"

Posted by on Nov. 22, 2012 at 2:16 PM
  • 17 Replies

I'm relatively new to the AP mindset, and I'm curious if you gals can explain any of the suggestions that I've put into red below.  I'd love to be better prepared when DS starts acting out, yet I need clarification of some of these concepts...

Thanks!

Tools for Positive Discipline (taken from AttachmentParenting.org)

This list is not all-inclusive, and some techniques described may not be suitable for children of a particular age or temperament.

• Maintain a positive relationship
  • Use empathy and respect
  • Research positive discipline
  • Understand the unmet need
  • Work out a solution together
  • Be proactive
  • Understand the child's developmental abilities
  • Create a "yes" environment
  • Discipline through play
  • Change things up
  • State facts rather than making demands
  • Avoid labeling
  • Make requests in the affirmative
  • Allow natural consequences
  • Use care when offering praise
  • Use time-in rather than time-out
  • Use time-in as a parent, too
  • Talk to a child before intervening
  • Don't force apologies
  • Comfort the hurt child first
  • Offer choices
  • Be sensitive to strong emotions
  • Consider carefully before imposing the parent's will
  • Use logical consequences sparingly and with compassion
  • Use incentives creatively with older children

by on Nov. 22, 2012 at 2:16 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
jellyphish
by Platinum Member on Nov. 23, 2012 at 12:02 AM
Natural and logical consequences are exactly that- Cause and effect. So when Isis won't put her shoes on when we go out, she doesn't get to walk around, I have to carry her. When she makes a mess, she cleans it up. When she colors on walls, her markers get taken away.