Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

natural death and dying

Posted by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 2:42 AM
  • 41 Replies
Not to get all morbid on yall but its what i do for a living so its on my brain a lot

I see a lot of family members pull every intervention they can to keep dying relatives alive as long as possible
It makes me sad:(
Have you thoughg about how you want to die? Does your family know your wishes?

Im assuming since a lot of you ladies LIVE naturally youd prefer to die in a similar fashion

Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 2:42 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
VintageWife
by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 2:48 AM
2 moms liked this

I wouldn't do a DNR, but I don't want them to decide to let me go at the first sign of infection either!!!!

littlelambe2
by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 2:59 AM

Same as tiff. I don't believe in living on life support for extended periods, living as a vegetable, etc, but if I have a fixable condition, I would want the medical care. But, I wouldn't do invasive treatment for a few extra months of life. Quality vs quantity. 

Peera
by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 7:14 AM

Yes, I took a sociology class on death in college & learned to be very vocal about my preference to anyone who might have any type of say in the matter (I took the class shortly after the Terri Schiavo fiasco, so I think it was on almost everyone's mind.), and then with our friend passing away this Christmas, SO and I reaffirmed to each other that we have no desire to be kept on life support.

mommy_2_be_2010
by on Jan. 14, 2013 at 7:20 AM
1 mom liked this
Nobody knows but my daughters dad if i die before she turns 18 and if i'm not married i expect my mom or dad(namely my daddy) to carry out my wishes keep me on life support so i can hug my daughter if i'm able and then allow me to go before my creator and meet my family at the gates