Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Natural Birth & Parenting Natural Birth & Parenting

Pitocin - How to avoid! **Update**

Posted by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 3:06 PM
  • 33 Replies

I'm going to be induced. I'm not a doctor and don't know what's really safe and not as far as my platelet count. It dropped from 135 to 109 in only a week! I couldn't believe it dropped so fast. She wants to induce, I think either tomorrow or Wednesday, we've got an appointment for tomorrow at 9:30am.

I want to avoid pitocin - such a nasty drug with HORRIBLE side affects. I need to know what other things can help me go into labor naturally.

I've had sex with dh several times, done the stairs, spicy food, baths, walking, EVERYTHING "safe" I've heard, I've been trying. Recently I heard pineapple juice? I'll be trying that tonight if you guys suggest it.

Please help with anything you can think of. If it comes down to it, I think from what I've seen the best option is the Foley Bulb? Please chime in with anything you want to say - without being mean, I just want to know everyone's opinion on different methods and what my other options are. :)

**So, I was induced with pitocin for 18 hours and still not really dialated so I told them I was done stressing baby and having all those drugs. So, here I am at home still pregnant! I feel so bad but baby's GREAT! He'll come when he's ready!**

by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 3:06 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Mrs.Salz
by on Jan. 21, 2013 at 3:08 PM
1 mom liked this

If I had to be induced, I'd start with a foley bulb, then cervidil.

AVOID cytotec (misoprostol).

Breaking water sometimes works, but I would prefer to keep water intact to avoid infection and so that if the induction doesn't work, you can go home and try again in a day or two.

ETA: sometimes you can start with a pit drip, and shut it off once contractions start.