Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Supplementing question..

Posted by on Feb. 19, 2013 at 8:27 PM
  • 12 Replies

I am going to back to work in less than a week, and my daughter will be 8 weeks old. I am currently breastfeeding exclusively and plan to continue pumping at work.  She is staying with my mom and mother in law during the week and I will be sending milk with her.  However, I do want to send some formula too FOR EMERGENCIES ONLY.  I am a nurse so sometimes, of course, I am delayed at work and not home on time.  The doctor suggests either Enfamil Gentlease or Similac Sensitive or Gerber Good Start Gentle.  I know nothing about either.  Any opinions??

by on Feb. 19, 2013 at 8:27 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
tansyflower
by on Feb. 19, 2013 at 8:37 PM

first follow the one ounce per hour rule regardless of what you supplement with (breastmilk or formula).  so if you are gone 8 hours then baby ONLY gets 8 oz while you are gone.  it should be given 1-2 oz at a time out of a wide based, slow flow nipple.  you want baby to see nursing as high demand and bottles as low demand so they dont develope a preference.

that being said i would recommend pumping first thing in the morning as you will get highest pumping output at that time.  then while you are at work pump every 2-3 hours that you are away from baby in order to keep your milk supply up.  its very important to pump as often as possible.