Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Emu Oil

Posted by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 2:11 PM
  • 9 Replies

(PIOG)

I purchased some Emu Oil yesterday to have on hands in case of burns.

But I got to wondering if I can use it as a Carrier Oil for essential oils...  I'm new to the whole EO thing and am not sure if they'd go together or not...

Input?

by on Apr. 24, 2013 at 2:11 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
maddiesmommy5
by Bronze Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 2:19 PM

Not sure but I have been using a emu oil shampoo bar with EOs of rosemary and mint in it, kinda the same thing?   

jellyphish
by Platinum Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 2:23 PM
Theoretically yes. But whether it's effective depends on the size of the molecules.
If its like lanolin (sheep oil), then the molecules are too large to absorb into the skin, so it and the EOs will just sit there.
I don't know if they're too big or not. But you can put some on your skin and wait. If it absorbs, great! If it sits there forever, the EOs aren't going to do anything but smell nice.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
GoodyBrook
by Silver Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 2:27 PM

Quoting jellyphish:

Theoretically yes. But whether it's effective depends on the size of the molecules.
If its like lanolin (sheep oil), then the molecules are too large to absorb into the skin, so it and the EOs will just sit there.
I don't know if they're too big or not. But you can put some on your skin and wait. If it absorbs, great! If it sits there forever, the EOs aren't going to do anything but smell nice.

Thanks, I'll try a sample smear of the Emu Oil.

Can you tell me why putting EOs directly on the skin would be a bad thing?  (Specifically Clove put on the neck muscles to aid in blood thinning...).  Like I said, I'm super new to EOs.

jellyphish
by Platinum Member on Apr. 24, 2013 at 4:35 PM
1 mom liked this