Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Natural Birth & Parenting Natural Birth & Parenting

If you refused the glucose drink (not the entire test)

Posted by on Apr. 25, 2013 at 10:09 PM
  • 19 Replies

what EXACTLY did you say to your provider? i go to an OB office and today they tossed that drink at me and said "the girl up front will tell you how to do it." No time for discussion. I decided i'd just call next week sometime and speak to someone that has time for me. Should i just say "i'm not comfortable drinking the glucose, what can i eat/drink instead?"  GOD, i get so weak when i'm faced with a doctor!!!!

CafeMom Tickers
by on Apr. 25, 2013 at 10:09 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Sarah725
by Group Mod - Sarah on Apr. 25, 2013 at 10:15 PM
2 moms liked this

Ok I am a lab tech and actually have woman do this test.  In our test procedure it actually says to drink the glucose or eat 10 jelly beans.  I swear I'm not making this up, I know it sounds crazy.  It was actually in small print.  I highlighted it one day for a co-worker to see and she couldn't believe it.  We never noticed that before.  I would have totally ate jelly beans instead.

jellyphish
by Platinum Member on Apr. 25, 2013 at 10:18 PM
1 mom liked this
I told my cnm I wasn't comfortable drinking the glucola and was very low risk for gd anyway. She had me do a blood draw after an 8 hr fast instead, which is way more accurate anyway. So I went for a single blood draw before breakfast and that was the end of it.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
pinkiebabii
by Bronze Member on Apr. 25, 2013 at 10:24 PM
1 mom liked this
I had to do a certain meal and get my blood drawn exactly two hours after.