Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Natural Birth & Parenting Natural Birth & Parenting

Juicing

Posted by on May. 7, 2013 at 8:50 AM
  • 12 Replies

Dh and I thought we'd try a week of green juices. But I have a question for those who are familiar with juicing. Each juice calls for a green apple. Dh is very sensitive to apples (as in his mouth gets on fire and his cheeks get burning and red after a bite or two) unless they are the low acid variety (ambrosia). Would it be ok to substitue ambrosia apples for Granny Smith? Or should I use a pear instead of a green apple for him? Also, I assume this is safe while bfing as I'm already eating fairly healthy, and I'm not subbing the juices for meals. I'm new to this. Thanks. 

Here is the juice recipes: http://foodmatters.tv/FM-Green-Juice-Challenge.pdf

by on May. 7, 2013 at 8:50 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Sarah725
by Group Mod - Sarah on May. 7, 2013 at 5:46 PM

I would use a pear...bump

megthompson920
by Member on May. 7, 2013 at 6:57 PM

I would sub a pear... or a variety of apple he isn't allergic to.. I love juicing.. it is safe for you in small amounts, 8-16 oz a day. If you juice too much without doing a coffee enema to release toxins you can overload your system with those toxins. So a glass or two is perfectly healthy and great for you and baby!

littlelambe2
by on May. 7, 2013 at 11:15 PM

Thanks!

Quoting Sarah725:

I would use a pear...bump

littlelambe2
by on May. 7, 2013 at 11:23 PM

Quoting megthompson920:

I would sub a pear... or a variety of apple he isn't allergic to.. I love juicing.. it is safe for you in small amounts, 8-16 oz a day. If you juice too much without doing a coffee enema to release toxins you can overload your system with those toxins. So a glass or two is perfectly healthy and great for you and baby!

AshleySail
by Member on May. 9, 2013 at 5:51 AM