Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Natural Birth & Parenting Natural Birth & Parenting

Non vax'ing families and international travel.

Posted by on Jul. 4, 2013 at 3:52 AM
  • 20 Replies

My kids are very minimally vaccinated. We are traveling to Mexico.  Have any of you mamas been in this situation?  Did you get select vaccinations before you traveled? If so what ones?  Or is there really nothing to worry about?

by on Jul. 4, 2013 at 3:52 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Aestas
by on Jul. 4, 2013 at 5:46 AM

I do vaccinate my child and have kept her more or less on the regular schedule, but I thought I'd try to answer your question since I have some experience with overseas travel. I spent part of my childhood in Africa and thus received a lot of vaccinations as a kid that weren't standard, especially at that time. I still check in with a doctor to get any extra vaccinations or boosters I might need before traveling to developing countires.

In your situation, I'd recommend two things. First, check the State Department's website for any warnings or information about the areas you're traveling to. Generally, the more touristy areas will be of less concern than more rural or off-the-beaten-path areas, but you'll want to make sure you have current information on any possible outbreaks or special concerns for the areas where you'll be. Second, do you have a pediatrician who's friendly to your concerns about vaccinations? I would ask her or him about the areas you're going to and what concerns or recommendations s/he has. The sooner you do this, the better, because it will give you more time to weigh your options and space out any vaccinations you do decide to get, if you end up feeling it's necessary. Ultimately, you'll have to weigh the information that's available to you and do what feels safest to you.