Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Natural Birth & Parenting Natural Birth & Parenting

Ummm, I don't think that's going to work

Posted by on Jul. 8, 2014 at 7:20 PM
  • 27 Replies

I took my youngest to his 18 month appointment today. His regular pediatrician was out of town so we saw the other pediatrician in the practice. I knew there was going to be a discussion about his weight. It's been a discussion at every appointment since birth. He's a tiny guy and always has been. We had a discussion about him not eating meat. I've offered it, but he just doesn't like meat at all. She gave me such a lecture and I got to the point where I just said, "I've been vegetarian for nearly 20 years and I have a degree in nutrition so I am completely aware of what he needs in his diet and what alternatives there are to meat and he is getting what he needs." Then there was the discussion about him drinking almond milk instead of cows milk, since they haven't diagnosed any milk protein allergy or the like. "Well, we tried milk when he weened from nursing and he got horribly constipated so we tried almond milk and he does much better" So now she says he's drinking too much milk and not enough water. I'm supposed to decrease his milk by 1/2 and double his water intake and then keep a food journal and come back in 2 months to see if he's gained weight. So essentially she just told me to decrease calories and get him to gain weight? I don't think that's going to work. Lol

So now I'm trying to come up with higher calorie foods for him. I'm having a hard time since we can't do dairy and he can't handle the texture of nut butters yet, both of which were great when I was trying to get my daughter to gain weight. I feel like I should know better since I was a nutritionist for several years, but I'm just at a loss right now. Any suggestions to get me started in the right direction with him?

by on Jul. 8, 2014 at 7:20 PM