Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Natural Birth & Parenting Natural Birth & Parenting

Childbirth Education Classes

Posted by on Aug. 24, 2014 at 7:39 PM
  • 8 Replies
Did you take any?

I am currently a HypnoBirthing instructor. I love it, but there are some things I don't totally agree with and some things I think are missing. I just want to know what classes you've taken and what you liked and didn't like about them.
by on Aug. 24, 2014 at 7:39 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
MamaBearEH
by Member on Aug. 24, 2014 at 9:01 PM

I've taken prenatal classes from the hospital, and maternity group I was with.  I highly recommend against those unless you're not looking to discuss/learn anything, and just want to be pat on the back for choosing to be drugged when the doctor tells you it's an emergency to remove the baby.  The most educational point they made was that the baby comes out of your vagina, and then quickly moved on as it was not appropriate to show or go into detail as we would be frightened.  Yet there were twenty minute discussions on how great mother's felt after getting their morphine shots.  I was thoroughly disgusted that the facilitator, the head nurse in a well respected provincial training facility, actually thought this approach benefit anyone other than the hospitals.  Lots of false information presented in order to benefit the hospital's convenience over the mother & child as well.  That really irked me a lot.  I also didn't like how when I inquired about my rights as a patient questions were only answered with you have no choice but to do XYZ as that's what the hospital policy is.  Unfortunately that is not the case.  For example standard policy may be antibiotic eye ointment, however you're fully within your legal rights to refuse it.